Studying
Religion in
Culture


Faculty

Dr. Michael J. Altman
Assistant Professor
maltman2@ua.edu

Dr. Matthew Bagger
Instructor
mcbagger@ua.edu

Dr. Gabriele Fassbeck
Online Grader
fassbeck@ua.edu

Dr. Eleanor Finnegan
Assistant Professor
edfinnegan@ua.edu

Dr. Suma Ikeuchi
Assistant Professor
sikeuchi@ua.edu

Dr. Steven L. Jacobs
Associate Professor
sjacobs@ua.edu

Dr. Nathan Loewen
Assistant Professor
nrloewen@ua.edu

Dr. Mark McCormick
Online Grader
clifford.m.mccormick@ua.edu

Dr. Russell T. McCutcheon
Professor
Department Chair
russell.mccutcheon@ua.edu

Dr. Steven Ramey
Associate Professor
steven.ramey@ua.edu

Dr. Mary Rebecca Read-Wahidi
Online Grader
mrread@ua.edu

Dr. Merinda Simmons
Associate Professor
Graduate Director
merinda.simmons@ua.edu
On Sabbatical Spr 2017

Dr. Vaia Touna
Assistant Professor
vaia.touna@ua.edu

Dr. Theodore L. Trost
Professor
Undergraduate Director
ttrost@ua.edu


We get around...

Staff

Betty Dickey
Administrative Secretary
bdickey@ua.edu

Donna Martin
Office Associate II
djmartin@ua.edu


Silverstein Fellows
Spring 2017

Caity Walker

Ellie Cochran

You can email our student workers at religiousstudies@ua.edu

Learn more about our
student workers.


Past Faculty

Dr. James Apple
Instructor, 2003-4

Dr. Finbarr Curtis
Instructor. 2011-13

Dr. William Doty (emeritus)

Dr. Gabriele Fassbeck
Visiting Assistant Professor,
2003-5

Dr. Patrick Green (emeritus)

Dr. Christopher D. L. Johnson
Instructor, 2010-12

Dr. Maha Marouan
Assistant Professor
2005-10

Dr. Tim Murphy
Associate Professor
2002-13

Mr. Spyros Piperakis
Instructor, Spring 2012

Dr. Catherine Roach
Associate Professor, New College
Cross-appointed to REL 1998-2006

Dr. Sarah Rollens
Instructor, 2013-15

Dr. Kurtis R. Schaeffer
Assistant Professor, 2000-5

Dr. Robert Stephens
Instructor, 2005-6

Vaia Touna
Instructor, Spring 2010

Dr. Leon Weinberger (emeritus)